Skip to main content

Skip to navigation menu

Bienal Internacional de Arquitectura

Skip to navigation menu


Carme Pinós, Architecture National Award 2021

Carme Pinós at the Architecture Institute of the Basque Country. Photo: Mikel Blasco

  • The Catalan architect, protagonist of this third edition of Mugak/ Biennial, has won the highest award in this field in Spain.

Carme Pinós has won the 2021 National Architecture Prize after having starred in this year's Mugak/ Biennial with its main exhibition, 'Estudio Carme Pinós - Context and concepts'. This Friday, December 10, the Presidency of the Government announced that Pinós is the winner of this award, promoted by the Ministry of Transport, Mobility and Urban Agenda.

This award is the highest Spanish award in the field of architecture and its purpose is to recognize the work of a person or entity that has contributed and is contributing in an extraordinary way to the enrichment of the social, technological and sustainable aspects of architecture or urban planning. Spanish inside and outside the Spanish borders.

The jury has decided to award Carme Pinós the 2021 National Architecture Prize for "the solidity of her career, being both prolific and excellent, always permeated by great creative power. A creative process that runs through the entire architectural work, culminating in with an outstanding execution of the projected ". This creative process can be seen in the form of an exhibition at the Euskadi Institute of Architecture until next February 27.

The Programme is being prepared